2023 player award nominations revealed

Published by Hayley on

As part of our Big Night Out on Friday 15 September, we’ll be giving out players’ awards for the first time.

Here are the nominations:

Most improved player of the year

  • Russell Andrews
  • Sam Chui
  • Cordelia Evelyn-Edwards
  • Peter Jones
  • Morgan Lowther
  • Fraser Munnoch

Unsung Hero – someone who goes above and beyond for SBC

  • Laurie Gould – for his continued help at Improver Club Nights
  • Xanthe Gould – for being a help to players who were struggling at club events
  • Morgan Lowther – for always being an advocate for SBC, attendance at socials and for suppling cake
  • Alex Todd – for stepping up and helping with league matches when we needed people last minute

Spirit Award – someone who demonstrates the ethos of SBC as a positive and friendly face at the club

  • Amy Claydon
  • Andy Gilyead
  • Xanthe Gould
  • Morgan Lowther
  • Mathilde Maciejevski
  • Dan Wu

Spoon of the Year

  • Russell Andrews – for spending more time on the floor than anyone else
  • Amy Claydon – for continually catching the shuttle instead of hitting it
  • John Geddes – for switching hands instead of playing a backhand
  • Johnny Malynn – for playing squash instead of badminton

Honorary Member

  • To be announced on the evening

We will also be awarding a Players’ Player of the Year – as voted for by our members! Submit your nomination.

If you haven’t booked your place for our Big Night Out, there’s still time. Join the club as a member and be given a free ticket to the event.

Or you can book and pay for the event directly without becoming a member. Please note you must be a member to vote during the AGM at our Big Night Out.

Categories: News


Communications & Socials Officer at Southsea Badminton Club